Map: Tracking the Omicron variant

The highly transmissible new variant has been detected in dozens of countries and territories, raising concerns about the spread of COVID-19.

Interactive: Mapping Omicron cases

The Omicron coronavirus variant, first detected in November 2021, has now been detected in at least 128 countries and territories worldwide.

More evidence is emerging that suggests the Omicron variant of the coronavirus causes milder symptoms. A World Health Organization or WHO official told reporters on Tuesday that there is now a “decoupling between cases and deaths.”

On Tuesday, the US, which currently has the highest number of confirmed cases, reported one million new daily cases. The UK, France and Australia also announced record daily Covid-19 infections, with the UK surpassing 200,000 cases for the first time on Tuesday. India is preparing for a third wave of coronavirus with cities such as New Delhi and Mumbai imposing curfews to curb the spread of the virus.

The map below highlights the countries that have reported Omicron cases. (The map will be updated as more information becomes available)

The countries/territories include:

Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Bermuda, Bosnia, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cambodia, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Libya, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Reunion, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Follow our blog for live updates.

Source: Al Jazeera and news agencies