Infographic: Taliban captures 26 Afghan provincial capitals

Taliban seizes control of 15 provincial capital cities in days in a lightning offensive across Afghanistan.


The Taliban has captured 26 of the 34 provincial capitals in Afghanistan, with more than half of them falling to the armed group in less than two weeks.

The armed group is now at the gate of the capital Kabul after taking major cities such as Herat, Kandahar and Mazar-i-Sharif.

The group had already gained vast parts of rural Afghanistan since launching a series of offensives in May to coincide with the start of the final withdrawal of US-led foreign forces after 20 years of war.

Source: Al Jazeera and news agencies